The Night Tiger

Yangsze Choo

Ren is an eleven-year-old houseboy with a mission: to find his dead master’s finger, severed and lost years ago, and bury it with his body.

The Other Wind

Ursula K. Le Guin

This, the final book in the Earthsea cycle, returns to the Dry Land—the land of the dead—where the barrier between life and death is crumbling.

Tales from Earthsea

Ursula K. Le Guin

The fifth book in the Earthsea cycle breaks from the path for five short stories, each of which reveals more about the Archipelago and the customs, traditions, and people within it.


Ursula K. Le Guin

Two decades passed between the publication of the third book of the Earthsea cycle and this, the fourth.

The Farthest Shore

Ursula K. Le Guin

The third book in the Earthsea cycle makes plain what before had only been hinted at: the magic of the wizards carries a cost.

The Tombs of Atuan

Ursula K. Le Guin

The second book in Le Guin’s extraordinary Earthsea cycle continues her subversion of the usual wizardly tropes: Ged, the antihero from the first book, reappears, but he serves as an accessory to another’s story—that of a young girl named Tenar.

A Wizard of Earthsea

Ursula K. Le Guin

The first book in Le Guin’s famed Earthsea cycle introduces Ged, a young and brilliant, albeit cocky, wizard who attempts to use magic he doesn’t fully understand, with dire consequences.

Infinite Detail

Tim Maughan

Tim Maughan’s debut novel is tragic and charming and very close to home: in response to the normalization of extreme surveillance, an anonymous cyberterrorist group figures out how to take the whole internet down, sending the world into chaos.

The Raven Tower

Ann Leckie

The main character of this book is a stone. A literal stone. Well, a god in the form of a stone, but a stone nonetheless.

Akata Warrior

Nnedi Okorafor

The second book in Okorafor’s Akata series finds Sunny settled in to her new magical school, observing the changes in her body as she grows and becomes stronger.

Akata Witch

Nnedi Okorafor

This young adult series centers on Sunny Nwazue, a New York-born Nigerian and albino.


Sue Burke

Sue Burke’s debut novel follows a small group of human colonists who have landed on a new planet and must learn to survive.

Blackfish City

Sam J. Miller

Qaanaaq is a floating Arctic city ruled by a group of invisible shareholders in the wake of the climate wars. One day, a woman arrives riding an orca and traveling with a polar bear.

With the help of a deranged doctor and a cornucopia of drugs, the narrator of My Year of Rest and Relaxation embarks on an adventure to sleep for an entire year.


Nnedi Okorafor

The titular character in Nnedi Okorafor’s novella is the first of the Himba people to leave Earth to travel to Oomza University, the most prestigious institution of higher learning in the galaxy.

The conclusion of Nnedi Okorafor’s Binti series finds Binti trying desperately to prevent a war between the Khoush and the Meduse.

Binti: Home

Nnedi Okorafor

The second book in Nnedi Okorafor’s Binti series brings Binti back home after her dramatic transformation.

The Emissary

Yoko Tawada

Something terrible has happened in Japan, and the country has cut itself off from the world.


Sarah Perry

This is a horror story, and a ghost story, and an enormously compelling reflection on what it means to be complicit, to repent, to suffer punishment.


John Crowley

Ka recounts the adventures of a crow named Dar Oakley, who—nearly two thousand years ago—ventured to the underworld with a young girl and stole the gift of immortality she meant to acquire for her fellow humans.