Books published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt


Michael Solomonov & Steven Cook

This has rapidly become my go-to cookbook.

A Wizard of Earthsea

Ursula K. Le Guin

The first book in Le Guin’s famed Earthsea cycle introduces Ged, a young and brilliant, albeit cocky, wizard who attempts to use magic he doesn’t fully understand, with dire consequences.

The Tombs of Atuan

Ursula K. Le Guin

The second book in Le Guin’s extraordinary Earthsea cycle continues her subversion of the usual wizardly tropes: Ged, the antihero from the first book, reappears, but he serves as an accessory to another’s story—that of a young girl named Tenar.

The Farthest Shore

Ursula K. Le Guin

The third book in the Earthsea cycle makes plain what before had only been hinted at: the magic of the wizards carries a cost.


Ursula K. Le Guin

Two decades passed between the publication of the third book of the Earthsea cycle and this, the fourth.

Tales from Earthsea

Ursula K. Le Guin

The fifth book in the Earthsea cycle breaks from the path for five short stories, each of which reveals more about the Archipelago and the customs, traditions, and people within it.

The Other Wind

Ursula K. Le Guin

This, the final book in the Earthsea cycle, returns to the Dry Land—the land of the dead—where the barrier between life and death is crumbling.